Motivation doesn’t always come easy for me

gandhi_motivation

I want to change direction from our usual posts for a moment and talk about something that I seem to always be struggling with.

Motivation. Or, lack thereof.

images

For some reason, I’m not sure if its health/brain chemical-related or I’m just downright lazy, I struggle to get things done.  Even writing a blog post for you all to read has been a struggle for me just to start, even though the idea was in my head.

But here it is…

For as long as I can remember I’ve always come up with great ideas (you should see the lists of great ideas I have written in different notebooks that are lying all around the place) but very often find the actual motivation to make them happen.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not that I don’t enjoy doing what I am doing with my business, the meetup group etc and sharing with you the lifestyle and ideas that Aimee and I have, it just seems when it comes to actioning things, I feel stopped in the water.  Sometimes  I don’t even have the motivation to go fishing and for those of you who know me know that’s a big deal because fishing is my absolute favourite thing to do.

I’ve dealt with motivation issues in the past and somewhat resolved them for a while (using EFT, NLP. goal setting etc), but it seems this problem just keeps coming back.  I have no problems motivating my clients when they need it but when it comes to self-motivation I quite often slip.  The extra sucky thing is it can also affect the people around me and most likely does/has.

I’m currently fighting my way out of a period of low motivation after I tore the meniscus in my knee which you can read about when I get the motivation to blog about it (lol!) . It was just so easy for me to not do any movements during the injury period and eat a little more junk than normal because I was “injured”.

motivation-secrets-8-successful-business-leaders

However now I feel I’ve turned that corner and am on the up again. I’ve decided to take part in the Ido Portal 30 day hanging challenge and also to feed my body what it needs. I’m already feeling a bit more positive about things since starting a few days ago. Let’s hope it continues.

Why am I writing this?  Probably for a couple reasons…

  1. To let people know that they’re not alone with the low motivation issues and that I too have struggles I have to deal with
  2. To have a bit more accountability with things that I say I’m going to do

Question: Has anyone else had low motivation like I do, and if so, what did you do to overcome it?

I’d love to hear from you guys on this topic. It’s often not talked about because there’s an element of shame that surrounds feeling unmotivated and with just simply not getting intended things done.

It could be partly due to nutritional depletion affecting brain chemicals. It could be pure laziness. Whatever the reason, just noticing and being aware of it is a great start in overcoming it.

-Clint

 

5 things I am grateful for: 

  • Low periods, because they make the great times feel so much greater
  • Moving again, its amazing how much moving can make you feel better
  • Taking time to lie under the stars with Aimee
  • Friends and family
  • Reading great books
Leave a Reply

