Recipe: Paleo Pecan Biscuits

I attempted my own version of a paleo-friendly pecan biscuit recipe not long after we got home from our trip to Moree, because Tony at Three Apples Organics gave me 2 bags of organic pecans!

I’m not a huge fan of eating a lot of paleo baked sweets, especially when full of nuts and seeds (due to the unhealthy changes that happen when nuts and seeds are heated, and the typical nutrient overwhelm that occurs in these kinds foods, making it tough on the gut to digest) but because I very rarely get to use or eat pecans, and I had so many of them I thought… why not get experimenting in the kitchen to see what I could come up with?!

And of course, I wouldn’t recommend eating these every day, but as a treat now and then, why not?!

S0… at this time I was still pretty new to using banana flour, and I wanted to play around with it a bit more and decided to include it in this recipe because I’d read it’s great for creating a nice biscuity texture.

One day I had a go at making a batch of biccies using the banana flour, pecans and other basic paleo ingredients. But Clint and I both agreed that while the biscuity texture was in fact great, the flavour was lacking a little. Basically… they were too boring. I couldn’t have that now could I!

 

So this week I finally gave it another crack and I think I’ve nailed it! And I’d love to share my new recipe with you all!

biscuit1

PALEO PECAN BISCUITS

Makes 8 large biscuits

You’ll Need:

1 tbsp arrowroot flour

1/2 tbsp Great Lakes beef gelatin powder (grab some here!)

1 tbsp coconut flour

3 tbsp Natural Evolution Foods banana flour

1 tsp each of nutmeg, cinnamon and vanilla powder

1/2 tsp each of aluminium-free bicarb soda, rice/gluten-free baking powder, Himalayan salt

1/2 cup crushed pecans, lightly toasted (organic if possible)

1 tsp apple cider vinegar

4 tbsp ghee (or coconut oil)

2 tbsp pure Grade B maple syrup

2 pastured organic eggs

 

Do This:

1. Preheat oven to 170 degrees Celsius

2. Add all dry ingredients into a bowl and mix well

3. In a tall, narrow jug add the wet ingredients and use a stick blender to mix well (or use a whisk or food processor but stick blenders are so quick and emulsify so well)

4. Next combine the wet and dry ingredients together and mix really well. It should be quite a thick batter, not runny at all

5. Place a sheet of baking paper on an oven tray and spoon dollops of batter onto the paper, spread out. I used about a tablespoon of mixture each biscuit which ended up in large biscuits because of how much the mixture rises and spreads while baking, so you can be quite minimal with how much you use so you have more biscuits to go around

biscuit3

6. Bake in the oven for around 20 mins, depending on your oven keep an eye on them (mine is not the best to go off unfortunately!), you’re wanting the biscuits to be dark brown on the bottom and edges but not as dark on top or they may be burnt underneath.

7. Once cooked through, remove from the oven and allow to cool. Then dish them out… but they won’t last long!

biscuit2

The texture should be slightly soft and moist inside while still crunchy and biscuity on the outside. Compared to the first attempt I did at making these, when the texture all the way through was dry, this recipe is much nicer and got the thumbs up from Clint when he tried them!

 

You don’t have to stick to this flavour combination. Especially if you can’t get a hold of quality raw pecans. How about swapping for macadamias and honey? Or walnuts and maple? If you stick to the base recipe and swap the nuts and sweetener around you can come up with some pretty unique biccies that the whole family can enjoy! 🙂

 

I appreciate the input of Dan the Aussie Paleo Chef, with the suggestion of toasting the pecans beforehand, and adding in the extra egg, as I’d used raw nuts and only 1 egg the first time. I’m happy to say though, the inclusion of arrowroot and gelatin was my idea and I’m so happy with the outcome!

I hope you enjoy making and devouring these biscuits!

Happy paleo baking 🙂

Aimee

 

5 Things I’m Grateful For:

1. Using quality ingredients to make healthy foods

2. My paleo journey which is leading me to better health

3. Sunny days

4. Going camping in the bush

5. Fluffy winter socks!

Leave a Reply

