Recipe: Paleo Vanilla Honey Custard

Clint is really loving my Fudgy Choc Brownies at the moment and one day while making them, recipe testing for my upcoming e-book, I decided to have another crack at making some custard to go with them.

 

My last attempt was a lumpy scrambled egg disaster so I kinda hadn’t been keen to try again since! But, I had a go, added plenty of vanilla and honey to give it a really nice flavour, and it turned out perfectly!Oh and I was a little gentler and more patient, that kinda helped!

I’ve tried it again a couple of times since, so I know it works and I’m excited to share my recipe with you guys!

 

custard brownies

HONEY VANILLA CUSTARD

 

You’ll need:

1 tin Ayam coconut milk (full-fat)

1-2 tbsp honey (depending on your taste)

3/4 tsp pure vanilla (I use Sunshine Vanilla black label, so good! Available here) or paste if you don’t want flecks of brown in the custard

1/2 tsp arrowroot powder

2 pastured egg yolks

 

Do this:

  1. In a small-medium saucepan add the egg yolks and whisk well then set aside
  2. Pour coconut milk into another small-medium saucepan and bring to a moderate heat slowly
  3. Before the coconut bubbles/boils (it just needs to be warmed through), remove from the heat
  4. One spoonful at a time add coconut milk to the egg mixture, whisking constantly. Add bit by bit, not too fast, otherwise the eggs might curdle
  5. Eventually you can add the remainder of the coconut milk with no problems
  6. Place that saucepan onto the stove, using low-moderate heat, add the honey, vanilla and arrowroot. Continue to whisk well for a few minutes until mixture thickens up a bit. Be sure to scrape the edges of saucepan properly to prevent egg cooking too much on the bottom
  7. It won’t become incredibly thick, unless you add more to thicken it with like arrowroot but I find too much stays a tad grainy which isn’t pleasant. You will see the mixture thicken up though and when it’s ready, remove from heat and pour into a serving cup/jug

TIP: IF you did happen to get some lumps/curdling happening on the bottom of the saucepan simply use a strainer to remove the lumps, easy fixed!

Serve over fudgy choc brownies like I did, with some ice cream, or drizzle over a paleo cake or pudding, or just drink it cos it’s so delicious on it’s own!!

“Why the egg yolks and not the eggs?” you ask. Well mum and I both don’t often eat whites because we’ve learnt the yolk is the healthiest part and often whites cause people to have egg allergies. So as often as I can I try to make foods without whites so mum and I can both enjoy them, and when I tried custard both ways I actually preferred yolk-only anyway as it seemed to create a better consistency. You can use the whole egg if you wish, but you’d only need to use 1 for this recipe.

Enjoy 🙂

Free from: dairy/gluten/grains/nuts/soy. Contains egg and coconut

Aimee x

 

5 Things I’m Grateful for Today:

  1. Sitting in t he sun outside for ages today
  2. The latest Outback magazine coming in the mail today
  3. All the new native raspberry seedlings that have popped up recently
  4. Country music
  5. Blogging!
Leave a Reply

